CITI’s Birla Economic and Textile Research Foundation is registered as Trust U/S 12 A(a) of the Income-Tax Act

Objects of the Foundation are:

Functioning as an information exchange or a Data Bank relating to the cotton textile industry in particular and textile industry in general

To carry out inclusive economic investigation on topical and long-term problems of the textile industry

For the spread and promotion of research in Textile Industry by way of grant of awards, Certificate of Merits and others

Present trustees are:

1. Shri Sanjay Kumar Jain

(Chairman CITI)

2. Shri T. Rajkumar

(Deputy Chairman – CITI)

3. Shri D.L. Sharma

(Vice Chairman-CITI)

4. Shri R.K. Dalmia

Senior President

Century Textiles and Industries Limited

5. Shri D.K. Agrawal

Executive President (Corporate Finance)

Century Textiles and Industries Limited



CITI Birla Economic & Textile Research Foundation distributes award every year for outstanding research in any branch of textile industry or its allied branches. A Jury is constituted every year for selection of the winner for the award.

Members of the Jury are mainly-

  1. Director, The Bombay Textile Research Association, Mumbai
  2. Director, Ahmedabad Textile Industry’s Research Association, Ahmedabad
  3. Director, Northern India Textile Research Association, Ghaziabad
  4. Director, The South India Textile Research Association, Coimbatore

Details of the topics selected by the Board for grant of award and its winner in the past are :

1993-94 1992-93 Effective Cost Reduction Hindoostan Spinning & Weaving Mills Ltd.
1994-95 1993-94 Sustained Modernisation/ Technological Upgradation GTN Textiles Ltd.
1995-96 1994-95 Production Efficiency Century Textiles and Industries Ltd.
1996-97 1995-96 Energy Conservation Mafatlal Fine Spg. & Mfg. Co. Ltd.,

Unit No. 1, Navsari

1997-98 1996-97 Human Resource Management Indian Rayon and Industries Limited

– Jaishree Textiles

1998-99 1997-98 Quality Management Super Spinning Mills Ltd., Coimbatore
1999-00 1998-99 Maintenance Management Arvind Cotspin Ltd., Kolhapur
2001-02 1999-00 Excellence in Cost Reduction 1.  Ginni Filaments Ltd.– 1 st Winner

2.  Suryavanshi Spg. Mills Ltd.-2nd Winner

2002-03 2000-01 IT Applications in Textiles 1.       Indo Rama Synthetics (I) Ltd., New Delhi

2.   Auro Weaving Mills, Solan (H.P.) (Unit of  Vardhman Spg. & General Mills Ltd.)

2001-02 Sustained Modernisation in Textile Industry 1.      Premier Fine Yarns Pvt. Ltd.,      Coimbatore

  1. Thiagarajar Mills Ltd., Madurai
2003-04 2002-03 Production Efficiency 1.      Pratibha Syntex Ltd.

Pithampur, Madhya Pradesh

2.      Ashima Ltd. Ahmedabad

2004-05 2003-04 Energy Conservation 1.      Raymonds Limited, Chhindwara, M.P.

2.       Classic Spg. Mills Ltd. Tirpur

2005-06 2004-05 Human Resource Management Vardhman Spinning and General    Mills, Ludhiyana
2006-07 2005-06 Quality Management in Textile Mills  Abhishek Industries Limited
2007-08 2006-07 Maintenance Management in Textile Mills Premier Cotton Textiles, Coimbatore
2008-09 2007-08 Innovations by the Textiles Mills Premier Mills Pvt. Ltd., Coimbatore
2009-10 2008-09 Cost Reduction by the Textile Mills Premier Mills Pvt. Ltd., Coimbatore
2010-11 2009-10 Production efficiency in Textiles Mills Raymonds Ltd.
2011-12 2010-11 Energy Conservation by Textile MilIs Maral Overseas Ltd., M.P
2012-13 2011-12 Human Resource Management Trident Limited
2013-14 2012-13 Quality Management in the Textile mills  Premier Mills Pvt. Ltd.
2014-15 2013-14 Innovations by the Textile Mills’ Maral Overseas Ltd.
2015-16 2014-15 Cost reduction by the Textile Mills” Premier Mills Pvt. Ltd.
2016-17 2015-16 Production Efficiency in Textile Industry Thiagarajar Mills (P) Ltd.
2017-18 2016-17 Excellence in Energy Conservation by Textile Mills Trident Limited
2018-19 2017-18 Sustainability in Textile Industry Maral Overseas Limited